

July 12, 2023

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Twenty Pathology Leaders Elected as Founding Members to New Academy of Distinguished Pathology Educators

Wilmington, DE – The Association of Pathology Chairs has elected twenty of the most accomplished educators in the specialty of pathology and laboratory medicine as founders of the newly established Academy of Distinguished Pathology Educators. Members of the Academy will work closely and collaboratively with the education committees of the Association of Pathology Chairs and with the Residency Program Directors Section and Undergraduate Medical Educators Section to:

- Advance excellence in pathology pedagogy.
- Support scholarship and innovation in pathology education and training.
- Develop educational leaders to serve within their medical schools, as well as national organizations.

Newly elected members include Deborah Powell MD, Dean Emerita of the medical schools at the University of Minnesota and University of Kansas, and recipient of the Association of American Medical Colleges' Abraham Flexner Distinguished Service to Medical Education Award; Vinay Kumar MD, Senior Editor of the essential textbook recognized as the international standard for medical education *Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease*; L. Maximilian Buja MD, Dean Emeritus of the University of Texas Health Science Center and co-founder of the University of Texas System's Shine Academy, which served as an inspiration for the Academy of Distinguished Pathology Educators; and Kamran Mirza MD, PhD, a leader in developing social media tools for pathology education, including #Path2Path and PathElective.com.

A full list of the new founding members is available on the Academy of Distinguished Pathology Educators' website: https://www.apcprods.org/academy-of-distinguished-educators.

"I congratulate the members of the new Academy on their election and greatly appreciate their commitment to foster innovation in education and to support and inspire the next generation of pathology educators," said APC President Dani Zander. "This new academy is more than just an honorific society. This group will be active contributors, who will greatly advance APC's educational mission."

Members of the Academy will be formally recognized at the APC's annual meeting in Chicago, July 16-19, 2023.

The Association of Pathology Chairs is a non-profit organization that represents academic departments of pathology and laboratory medicine in North America. APC's membership includes department chairs and vice chairs, pathology residency program directors, undergraduate medical education and graduate education leaders, residency and fellowship program administrators, and academic department executives. For over 50 years, APC has championed excellence in training residents, fellows, medical students, and graduate students in pathology and laboratory medicine.