AAPath Pathology Leadership Fellows Program

Building on the lessons of AAPath's Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Program (a mentored micro-incubator for future academic pathology leaders) and AAPath's Pathology Leadership Academies (live 1- to 2-day small group workshops on fundamental leadership topics), the Leadership Development & Diversity Committee launched the AAPath Pathology Leadership Fellows (APLF) program to cultivate leadership potential and opportunities by providing experiences and education that accelerate understanding and competency in the skills required for academic administration. In 2021, the APLF program welcomed its first class of 27 outstanding participants.

The Class of 2024-2025 APLF Program Application Period is Closed!


The APLF program is suitable for mid-to-senior level faculty (assistant, preferably associate, professor level faculty) pursuing vice chair, director, chief or chair roles. No more than two participants will be selected from any one AAPath member department in good standing (current dues paid). 

Application/Program Details: 

  • Application Packages Will Include:
    • Completed application form.
    • Current curriculum vitae.
    • Letter of commitment from the department chair to support program participation time.
    • Letter of recommendation from the department chair or other reference in a high-level leadership role (may be combined with the letter of commitment, if coming from the same department chair).

Application & Decision Timeline:

  • Applications Open – January 2024
  • Application Deadline – March 15, 2024
  • Applicant Notification – April 1, 2024

*The AAPath Pathology Leadership Fellows (APLF) is a year-long leadership development program. Please visit the Pathology Leadership Academy (PLA) webpage if you are looking for a more condensed leadership program to join. Our PLA is a one and a half day, in-person program to enhance leadership skills. Additional program details, eligibility, and registration can be found on the PLA webpage

APLF Program Fellows 2023-2024

Program content will be posted here (login required) Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

Alia Nazarullah, MD; University of Texas Health San Antonio
Anupma Nayak, MBBS, MD; University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Barbara Ritschel, MD; Uniformed Services University
Bharat Thyagarajan, MBBS, PhD; University of Minnesota
Chieh-Yu Lin, MD, PhD; Washington University in St. Louis
Claudia Cohn, MD, PhD; University of Minnesota
Dorina Gui, MD, PhD; University of California, Davis
Faqian Li, MD, PhD; University of Texas Health Science Center At San Antonio
Hwajeong (Jenny) Lee, MD; Albany Medical College
Jennifer Dunlap, MD; Oregon Health & Science University
Kelly Smith, MD, PhD; University of Washington
Keyur Patel, MD, PhD; The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Laurel Glaser, MD, PhD; University of Pennsylvania
Liuyan Jiang, MD; Mayo Clinic Florida
Matthew Karafin, MD, MSc; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mica Grantham, MD; Howard University Hospital and College of Medicine
Miriam Post, MD; University of Colorado
Olajumoke Oladipo, MD; Penn State Health Hershey Medical Center
Paul Staats, MD; University of Maryland School of Medicine
Phyu Aung, MD, PhD; The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Rena Xian, MD, MS; Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Ronald Balassanian, MD; University of California, San Francisco
Sally Campbell-Lee, MD; University of Illinois at Chicago
Sanja Dacic, MD, PhD; Yale School of Medicine
Satyapal Chahar, MD; University of Mississippi Medical Center

Past APLF Program Fellows

[Show All]

    • Program content is posted here (login required). Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

    • Caroline Abramovich, MD; MetroHealth Medical Center
    • Hikmat Al Ahmadie, MD; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    • Vijayalakshmi Ananthanarayanan, MBBS, MD; Loyola University Medical Center
    • Neil Anderson, MD; Washington University School of Medicine
    • Muhammad Arshad, MD, FCAP; Beaumont Hospital System
    • Charlene Bierl, MD, PhD; Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Jay Brock, BS, MS, PhD, MBA; Akron Children's Hospital
    • Nicole Cipriani, MD; The University of Chicago
    • Alejandro Contreras, MD, PhD; M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
    • Emmanuel Fadeyi, MD; Wake Forest University School of Medicine
    • Sandeep Gurbuxani, MBBS, PhD; University of Chicago
    • Yachana Kataria, PhD; Boston University
    • Madhurima Koka, MD, PhD; University of Maryland School of Medicine
    • Oleksandr Kryvenko, MD; University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
    • Angelique Levi, MD; Yale University
    • Mari Mino-Kenudson, MD; Massachusetts General Hospital
    • Jennifer Morrissette, PhD; University of Pennsylvania
    • Evelyn Potochny, DO; Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
    • Michelle Pramick, MD; Geisinger Health System
    • Steven Shen, MD, PhD; Houston Methodist Hospital
    • Michael Thrall, MD; Houston Methodist Houston
    • Joshua Warrick, MD; Penn State
    • Sara Wobker, MD, MPH; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    • Jianying Zeng, MD; SUNY Downstate Medical Center
    • Zhongren (David) Zhou, MD PhD; Rutgers University

  • Program content is posted here (login required). Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

  • Nicole Aqui, MD; University of Pennsylvania
  • Kathleen Beavis, AB, MD; University of Chicago
  • Amir Behdad, MD, MBA; Northwestern University
  • Magdalena Czader, MD, PhD; Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Guang Fan, MD, PhD; Oregon Health and Science University
  • Sabina Hajiyeva, MD; Lenox Hill Hospital / Northwell Health
  • Richard Hammer, MD; University of Missouri
  • Benjamin Hinrichs, MD; University of Cincinnati Medical Center
  • Sravankumar Kavuri, MD; Augusta University
  • Ravindra Kolhe, MD, PhD; Augusta University
  • Kristina Matkowskyj, MD, PhD; University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Lauren McVoy, MD, PhD; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Kamran Mirza, MD, PhD; Loyola University Health System
  • Gina Murray, MD; East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine
  • Aziza Nassar, MD, MPH, MBA; Mayo Clinic
  • Scott Oakes, MD; University of Chicago
  • Jordan Olson, MD; Geisinger Health System
  • Jo Elle Peterson, MD; The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Meredith Pittman, MD, Master of Science in Clinical Investigation; Maimonides Medical Center
  • Charles Quick, MD; University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Alex Rai, PhD; Columbia University Irving Medical Center
  • Von Samedi, MD, PhD; University of Colorado
  • Reggie Thomasson, MD; Boston Medical Center/Boston University School of Medicine
  • Kathleen Whitney, MD; Montefiore Medical Center
  • Christa Whitney-Miller, MD; University of Rochester
  • Nicole Williams, MD, MBA; Penn State Health Hershey Medical Center
  • Sophia Yohe, MD; University of Minnesota


Contact [email protected]