Society of 67 Scholars Award for Pathology Residents and Medical Students


The Society of '67 Kinney Scholars Program was named in 2021 to honor Dr. Thomas D. Kinney. Dr. Kinney was especially committed to education and training, one of the founders of APC, and a legendary pathologist and mentor to many.

The Society of ’67 Thomas D. Kinney Scholars Program provides an opportunity for medical students and/or pathology residents to familiarize themselves with career opportunities in pathology and the critical role of pathology in healthcare delivery, research, and education. Kinney Scholars in the program participate in the APC 2022 Annual Meeting at the Swissotel Chicago in Chicago, IL, where they will gain insight from national leaders in academic pathology. The application period opens in January and closes in early March annually.

Congratulations to the 2022 Kinney Scholars!

Medical Students

Basma Al Masraf, Michigan State University, Sponsored by Cheryl Hanau, MD
Nicole Fye, Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Jerome Givi, MPH, West Virginia University, Sponsored by L. Maximilian Buja, MD
Emily Hatheway, Duke University School of Medicine, Sponsored by Robert Hoffman, MD, PhD
Saumya Kasliwal, Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University
Laura Molina, PhD, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Sponsored by Lydia Howell, MD
Sanika Satoskar, MPH, Northeast Ohio Medical University
Jerry Saunders II, PhD, University of Rochester
Alex Tannenbaum, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Sponsored by Barbara Ducatman, MD
Karen (Kay) Tew, University of Florida College of Medicine, Sponsored by the APC Senior Fellows Group


Adeyinka Akinsanya, MBBS, Indiana University School of Medicine
Ahmad Alshomrani, MBBS, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Sponsored by Lydia Howell, MD
Ji Dong Bai, MD, Stony Brook University Hospital, Sponsored by Daniel Ryan, MD
Meagan Chambers, MD, University of Washington, Sponsored by Robert Hoffman, MD, PhD
Luiz Paulo De Lima Guido, MD, University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital
Arkar Htoo, MD, Albany Medical Center, Sponsored by Cheryl Hanau, MD
Constantine Kanakis, MD, Loyola University Medical Center
Vivian Tang, MD, University of California, San Francisco
Burak Tekin, MD, Mayo Clinic, Sponsored by the APC Senior Fellows Group
Mary Torrez, MD, University of New Mexico



Past Scholars

2021 Thomas D. Kinney Scholars Program

Medical Students

Ashley Barlev, Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Diana Fang, Medical University of South Carolina
Adriana Garrison, West Virginia School of Medicine
Evelyn Ilori, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
Cullen Lilley, Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
Margarita Loxas, Creighton University
Wesley Wang, The Ohio State University


Samreen Fathima, MD, Baylor university medical center
Ashley Hein, MD, University of Nebraska Medical Center
Timothy Helland, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Maria Cristina Magallanes Hoyos, MD, Oregon Health and Science University
Janina Markidan, MD, University of Maryland Medical Center
Nicole Mendelson, MD, University of Vermont Medical Center
Kenechukwu Ojukwu, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Jason Rostedt, MD, Madigan Army Medical Center
Brandon Zelman, DO, Loyola University Medical Center

2021 Kinney Scholars

Past Scholars

For details on past Scholars, click the headings below, or click "Show All" to expand them all.

This award is made possible through contributions to the Society of ’67.