APC Service AwardsMichele Raible Distinguished Achievement Award (Undergraduate Medical Education)

The UME Distinguished Achievement Award honors pathology educators who demonstrate a range of contributions at local, regional, and national levels in undergraduate medical education. Nominations for the Awards shall be solicited from the AAPath chair membership and from the Undergraduate Medical Educators Section (UMEDS).

Award Process

  1. Nominations must include three letters of nomination (at least one from an AAPath member and at least one from an individual not at the nominee's institution), and a recent curriculum vitae of the candidate.
  2. In any given year, nomination packages must be submitted through this online form no later than December 31st. Every nominee's candidacy for the award remains active for three consecutive years. Click here to view a PDF preview of the form.
  3. AAPath Council shall review the nominations at Winter Council and solicit the recommendation of the UMEDS Section Chair. The UME Award recipient will be selected by AAPath Council and will receive their award during the annual AAPath Meeting.

Nominate a colleague for an APC Service Award

Congratulations to the 2023 Awardees!

 Andrea Deyrup, MD, PhD



Andrea T. Deyrup, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology, Duke University School of Medicine

H. James Williams, MD


H. James Williams, MD
Professor, Pathology, Anatomy and Laboratory Medicine, West Virginia University School of Medicine


Past Award Recipients

  • 2022 - Michael J. Borowitz, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2022 - Kamran M. Mirza, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2021 - Barbara Knollmann-Ritschel, MD (photo)
  • 2020 - Michael Prystowsky, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2019 - Cheryl Hanau, MD (photo)
  • 2018 - Richard Mitchell, MD, PhD (photo | tweet)
  • 2017 - Margret Magid, MD (photo)
  • 2016 - Richard Conran, MD, PhD, JD
  • 2015 - Regina Gandour-Edwards, MD
  • 2014 - Roger Geiss, MD
  • 2013 - Kenneth Klein, MD
  • 2012 - John Woosley, MD, PhD
  • 2011 - Peter G. Anderson, DVM, PhD
  • 2011 - Byron E. Crawford, II, MD
  • 2010 - Michele D. Raible, MD, PharmD (posthumously)